## MORRISON-TALBOTT LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES 26 June 2023 MINUTES

The Morrison-Talbott Library Board of Trustees met on Monday, 26 June 2023 at 6:30 p.m. in the library. President Ken Perkins presided. Trustees present included:

Vickie Gardner PSharon Glessner PJames Hopkins APhillip Kelley PAndrew Mayer PJared Nobbe AKenneth Perkins PConnie Lutz PRita Trantham A

Others Present: Jamie Wratchford, Library Director

President Ken Perkins added a closed session per 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1): the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees. Sharon Glessner moved to approve the agenda with the above addition. Connie Lutz seconded the motion. Motion carried with Gardner, Glessner, Kelley, Mayer, Lutz, and Perkins voting "aye."

There was no public comment.

With no questions, Connie Lutz made a motion, seconded by Vickie Gardner, to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried with Gardner, Glessner, Kelley, Mayer, Lutz and Perkins voting "aye."

There was no report from the Friends of the Library.

In the Director's Report, Jamie highlighted that the Summer Reading Program has exceeded 500+ participants at the half-way mark.

There were no committee reports.

At 6:36 p.m., Andy Mayer made a motion, seconded by Phill Kelley, to enter into closed session. Motion carried with Gardner, Glessner, Kelley, Mayer, Lutz, and Perkins voting "aye."

Andy Mayer made a motion to end the closed session at 6:52 p.m. Motion was seconded by Sharon Glessner. Motion carried with Gardner, Glessner, Kelley, Mayer, Lutz, and Perkins voting "aye."

Vickie Gardner made a motion, seconded by Phill Kelley, to reenter regular session. Motion carried with Gardner, Glessner, Kelley, Mayer, Lutz, and Perkins voting "aye."

As the terms of all three current board officers expire 30 June 2023, President Ken Perkins called for volunteers or nominations for new officers. New officers will serve a one-year term from 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2024, and will be eligible for a second one-year term if desired. After some discussion, the new slate of officers presented includes: Andy Mayer, President; Phill Kelley, Vice President; and, Sharon Glessner, Secretary/Treasurer. Ken Perkins made a motion, seconded by Vickie Gardner, to elect the above officers effective 1 July 2023. Motion carried with Gardner, Glessner, Kelley, Mayer, Lutz, and Perkins voting "aye."

President Ken Perkins thanked Vickie Gardner for her 30 years of service as a library trustee, and for all that she has done to advance the library's role in the community. Vickie shared some of her favorite memories of her time as a trustee, including the haunted house and other events held at the Col. Morrison Home, the construction of the new building in 1995, and the many fundraising events conducted by the friends and trustees of the library over the years. Vickie will be missed, and the library is eternally grateful for her support.

The next Morrison-Talbott Library Board of Trustees regular meeting is scheduled for Monday, 24 July 2023 at 6:30 p.m. in the library. With no further business to conduct, President Perkins adjourned the meeting at 7:10 pm